Shooting for Mom of The Year—then he got the toilet brush!

Posted on Updated on

I know there is the new term rolling around…”helicopter” parenting…and yeah so maybe I would fit in that category at times, but rather than feeling ashamed I was proud to know that I was on top of everything (so I thought).  Then the day came when I was feeling uber productive….dinner in the crockpot, house clean, laundry caught up, kids sorted out for schoolwork and gymnastics and basketball….and well you know how long these lists are so I’ll stop there.  Then for what seemed to be 2 SECONDS that I went to fold that last load of laundry….not even 10 feet from where I was standing…this little love of my life comes traipsing out of the bathroom “num numing” and “smack smacking” his lips as though he had found the gold mine of rice crispy treats or something…but NO!….it was the freakin’ TOILET BRUSH and HOLDER!!!!  Are you kidding me?!  (Since I panicked…no photos were taken at the time so I have provided an illustration of the BIG event)

Toilet Bush Catastrophe

Keep in mind, I had JUST cleaned the bathroom and used this particular brush which in itself is nasty, right?  Worse than that, in my world of using non-toxic cleaners almost always…and by almost I mean occasionally I use a lime/scale remover because baking soda and vinegar just don’t get the job done for everything…this was NOT a day of using one of my non-toxic faves! CRRRAAAAPPP!  So yeah, that “chemical filled cleaner” was albeit diluted…on the brush too!  My instant reaction was to screech, then smack the holder he was ready to “drink” from out of his hand and grab the brush with lightning speed….crisis overted?  Well, I quickly took him to the sink…wiped his face down, looked in his mouth (for chemical burns of course! Yikes!)….none whew!…but his shirt was dry.  DRY!  So one…he either slurped it up real good for a 14 month old….or the holder was empty of any excess water from the brush.  The world will never know.

Needless to say the little guy is completely fine, but I have to say that surely the Mom of The Year Award was snatched from my clutches in that very moment.  I share this story with you to let you know that yes these things happen, no parent WANTS to admit it when it does, but at least by sharing….you now know you are not alone.  We together are PERFECTLY IMPERFECT.

Lesson:  Shut the bathroom doors with TODDLERS around!

Have a super duper day y’all!

~Lisa

5 thoughts on “Shooting for Mom of The Year—then he got the toilet brush!

    […] Shooting for Mom of The Year—then he got the toilet brush! […]

    Liked by 1 person

    Kaily said:
    February 19, 2015 at 8:37 am

    OMG, I found your blog through Karen today and can’t get enough! This is so funny and I’ve totally been here with my 16 month old! Love your illustration, btw 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      Lisa responded:
      February 19, 2015 at 8:49 am

      Lol! Well thank you! And welcome to my little blessed haven of ridiculousness. I’m so glad I’m not alone in these toddler shenanigans. Thanks for following! So great to have you here Kaily! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Dāsha said:
    February 19, 2015 at 10:00 am

    wow!…my blood pressure rose quickly while reading this post, i think i would’ve panicked, froze in fear and called my mom lol

    http://windycitywardrobe.com/

    Like

      Lisa responded:
      February 19, 2015 at 10:02 am

      Haha! My blood pressure sky rocketedd I feel like I kicked in to adrenaline survival mode….MUST SAVE BABY! Lol. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a reply

