Weekly Whims: Pj’s In The Parking Lot—confessions of a lazy mom

Posted on Updated on

You know that mom you see every morning up at your kid’s school?  The one dressed to the nines, hair done perfectly and make-up on?

stiletto mom

Okay…so just to be clear, that’s not me.  I see her too and sure if I had a job that I had to be at in the morning hours (rather than evenings) then yes, maybe that would be me….BUT…..no.  It’s true.  I confess.  I leave the house every weekday morning in my pajamas.  I have no good excuse and realistically I don’t need one.  I just don’t want to get dressed that early unless I absolutely have to.  Oh the thought.

Don’t fret…I’m real safe and look both ways before I run through the driveway and quickly jump into my car to preserve my secret.  Ha!  Every time I make it before a neighbor or driver-by sees me, it’s like a ridiculous euphoria of accomplishment.  When I don’t make it, I feel the embarrassment and shame wave over me.  Eyes looking down…shoulders low…no eye contact.  Just get in the car and go like the shameless jammie wearing mommy slob that I am.

Now, I have been known to camouflage from the waist up with a jacket.  Brilliant, I know.  I do what I can.  When folks see me through my car window, I can tell that they have no idea.  No idea that from the window sill down I am donning a pink pair of polar bear pants and giant fluffy slippers (or my fab easy to pull on perfect lazy day Ugg boots)!  Of course the carpark volunteers that help the kids get out of the car at the curbside drop-off….well…they most definitely know my secret and I am 108.2% sure they are jealous of me.  I could be wrong, but I don’t think so.  Ask my husband.  I’m always right.

image**In this case the proof is in the polar fleece.  I have quite a variety, but thought you’d like to see the ones mentioned.  They exist!**

So does this guilty pleasure make me lazy?  You can say it….oh don’t be a wimp.  Fine, I’ll say it….absolutely!  And I don’t care who knows it!!!…eh hem…on my blog.  I just don’t want Mrs. Mommy Rockin’ Stilettos to see me.  I’m sure if she ever does, I will feel like I have been “busted” BIG TIME!  Which is funny in itself, because I have no idea who she is.  However, if she spots me…any awesomeness that I still possess will be ripped from my clutches in an instant.  Shhhh…keep my secret….pleeeease!  I mean, if we’re going to be BFF’s you gotta be able to keep a secret.  That’s a golden rule of BBF’s ya know.

Fess up!  Are you in the “Parking Lot PJ Club”?  Do tell.  I promise I won’t tell a single soul.  🙂

~Lisa

2 thoughts on “Weekly Whims: Pj’s In The Parking Lot—confessions of a lazy mom

    Karen Rees said:
    January 13, 2015 at 10:13 am

    Lol Great post Lisa – I’m afraid I’m up that early that by the time I leave I’m well dressed, a pj day would be lovely!! Enjoy them 😀 X

    Like

    Lisa responded:
    January 13, 2015 at 10:33 am

    Lol Karen! I wish you a pj day one day soon! 😜

    Like

Leave a reply

