Sunday Scoops: Simple Strawberry Shortcake! Happy Mother’s Day!

Posted on Updated on

This week’s addition of Sunday Scoops is dedicated to my Mom who is truly the most beautiful person inside and out.  She is my best friend, a loving and nurturing Nana to my little ones and is such a compassionate and kind person that the world is genuinely a better place because she is in it.  My brother and I are so very blessed to have her as our Mom. #bestmomever

Since I was a little girl we have shared many desserts, but I think the one that stands out the most in my mind as a real treat from my mom was always Strawberry Shortcake.  Maybe because it was a quick go-to, tasty recipe with very few ingredients.  It was great to whip up no matter the time of year for a busy working mom and has always been a real treat for our family.  So listen, I know there are a ton of homemade from scratch recipes out there that I could share, but you know what, I am going to go with exactly what my Mom whipped up for us in no time flat.  Keeping it simple, budget friendly and true to one of my sweetest childhood treats.  Happy Mother’s Day Mom!  Love you forever and always!  ~ Lisa

1) Fresh strawberries.  Chopped, then mashed. Leave it chunky with juice to spoon over cake. (if desired, add sugar to taste)

mash-strawberries-001
Photo credit: makeit-loveit.com

 

2) Cut and plate angel food cake (Store bought or recipe at Sweet & Savory) or dessert cups

3) Top with Whipped Cream or Cool Whip.  Voila! YUM!

 

 

One thought on “Sunday Scoops: Simple Strawberry Shortcake! Happy Mother’s Day!

    Lorrie said:
    May 10, 2015 at 7:50 am

    a fav in our house growing up too!!

    Like

Leave a reply

